Omega Psi Phi Fraternity

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. is the first international fraternal organization founded on the campus of a historically black college or university (HBCU).

The HBCU, Howard University, located in Washington, D.C. The founders were three undergraduates -- Edgar Amos Love, Oscar James Cooper and Frank Coleman. Joining them was their faculty adviser, Ernest Everett Just.

Our motto is "friendship is essential to the soul". From this phrase the name Omega Psi Phi was derived.

Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance and Uplift were adopted as Cardinal Principles.

Omega Psi Phi was founded November 17, 1911 and was incorporated under the laws of the District of Columbia on October 28, 1914.

Dr. Ernest E. Just

Dr. Ernest E. Just

Bishop Edgar A. Love

Bishop Edgar A. Love

Dr. Oscar J. Cooper

Dr. Oscar J. Cooper

Prof. Frank Coleman

Prof. Frank Coleman

Gamma Phi Chapter Brief History

General History

On Friday evening, November 17, 1911, three Howard University undergraduate students, with the assistance of their faculty adviser, gave birth to the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity. This event occurred in the office of biology Professor Ernest E. Just. The three liberal arts students were Edgar A. Love, Oscar J. Cooper and Frank Coleman. Whereas, the Gamma Phi Chapter is indebted to its founders who birthed the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. The Gamma Phi Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. is celebrating over 90 years of service as a graduate chapter in Nashville, Tennessee.

Bro. John W. Work Sr., became a member of Delta Chapter in 1919. Upon the organization of Gamma Phi, along with other graduate members, they then transferred to Gamma Phi (The Oracle, November 1925). The chapter was chartered on October 1, 1925 under the auspices of the 11th Grand Basileus Bro. George E. Vaughn. The first Basileus for the Gamma Phi Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc. was Bro. Theo. T Groves (The Oracle, 1925). No other chapters that are currently in the 5th District were established until 1925, except for Epsilon Phi in Memphis and Gamma Phi in Nashville. The four men who chartered Gamma Phi were George W. Crite, Charles Dowdy, Willis Lewis, and Thomas E. Roag.

Community Involvement

From our humble beginnings, Omega men have built bridges in the Nashville community and beyond. Through dedication to the aspirations so firmly planted by the founders, Gamma Phi men have provided UPLIFT to the citizens of Nashville and areas beyond our borders. Many Omega men of Gamma Phi have made a lasting mark in religion, civil rights, athletics, medicine, business, and institutions of higher learning, government, military, science, engineering, and education. Gamma Phi's community involvement includes; serving holiday meals to local residents, youth toy drives, back to school events, mentoring programs for youth, political activism, scholarships to aspiring students. Some of Gamma Phi’s signature events include;

  1. Bordeaux School Uplift Program
  2. Christmas with the Ques
  3. Thanksgiving Dinner with Hadley Tower Seniors
  1. Christmas Dinner with Hadley Towers Seniors
  2. Omega’s Widow’s Assist Program (OWAP)
  3. Riverbend Uplift Program
  1. Gamma Phi Talent Hunt

Future Generations

The chapter’s current roll reflects over 90 enthusiastic Brothers. We look forward to providing continued service in the local community, within the Legendary 5th District, and in the national arena.   Gamma Phi chapter remains diligent in fulfilling its mission of Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance and Uplift.  Special thanks to all of the Brothers whose shoulders we stand upon!

Past Basilei- Gamma Phi

  • Bro. Theo. T Graves, 1925
  • Bro. W.E.A. Forde, M.D., 1930
  • Bro. J.B. Singleton, 1930-1939
  • Bro. John W. Work Sr,, 1940-1941
  • Bro. Dr. Thomas Payne, 1945-1947
  • Bro. William Faulkner
  • Bro. Thomas Payne, 1945-1948
  • Bro. Erskine Lytle, Jr. 1949
  • Bro. Enoch T. Williams 1954
  • Bro. Richard H. Harris 1955
  • Bro. Raymond Kemp 1967-68
  • Bro. Henry A. Moses 1969-70
  • Bro. Ester. J. Junior Jr. 1971-73
  • Bro. James M. Conley 1974
  • Bro. James E. Arnell 1982
  • Bro. Christopher Minor 1993-1995
  • Bro. Haskell Ruff 1995-1996
  • Bro. Walter Hester 1996-1997
  • Bro. Ernest McKinney 1997-1998
  • Bro. Haskell Ruff 1998-1999
  • Bro. Roderick Owens 1999-2000
  • Bro. Eric Walker 2000-2002
  • Bro. Leonard Webster 2002-2006
  • Bro. Larry Holden 2007-2010
  • Bro. Julius Witherspoon 2010-2014
  • Bro. Boyce Wilkins 2014-2017
  • Bro. Michael Milliner 2017 - present

District Representatives

  • Grand Basileus Z. Alexander Looby, District Representative 1938-1941
  • Bro. L. W. Beasley, District Representative 1945-1960
  • Bro. Frank Royal, District Representative 1968-1969
  • Bro. Albert Berry, District Representative 1969-1972
  • Bro. Ralph Johnson, District Representative 1995-1997

Grand Officers

  • Grand Basileus Z. Alexander Looby, 1940-1945